Main Content

Medical Center faculty honored by state, national organizations

Published on Monday, November 28, 2022

Medical Center faculty and staff often are recognized regionally, nationally and internationally for their academic or medical achievements. These accolades place UMMC among health science centers worldwide.

School of Nursing, Dr. Marilyn Harrington honored by AAMN

Portrait of Marilyn Harrington

The American Association for Men in Nursing honored Assistant Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Dr. Marilyn Harrington and the School of Nursing at the University of Mississippi Medical Center for diversity, equity and inclusion efforts.

Harrington, an associate professor of nursing, received the 2022 Inclusion and Diversity Excellence Award (IDEA award) from the association at its recent annual conference in Orlando. The award salutes Harrington’s work and dedication to promote diversity in nursing through sustained and innovative efforts to recruit and retain minority nurses on an organizational, regional and national level.

The SON was recognized at the conference as an AAMN 2022 Best Schools for Men in Nursing. The AAMN noted the school’s recruitment materials and images depicting male nurses and events that target prospective nursing students who are men.

“Increasing male student enrollment within the School of Nursing has been a long-term goal of mine,” Harrington said. “Many credentialing institutions of nursing, including the AACN, the ANA, and IOM all recognize the importance of nurses mimicking the population within the state. Men represent approximately 48 percent of the population of Mississippi. 

“However, within nursing, they only account for 12 percent nationally and in Mississippi, about one in 10 nurses are male, including RNs and LPNs. This honor serves as further motivation to continue these recruitment efforts.”

—  —  —

Street lauded as top radiologic technologist

Portrait of Asher Street

Dr. Asher Street, program director for the Master of Science in Magnetic Resonance Imaging program, received the Technologist of the Year award from the Mississippi Society of Radiologic Technologists (MSRT).

She was presented this honor at the 80th annual MSRT Conference held recently in Natchez.

“Dr. Street has as a deep commitment to service in both the community and the imaging profession,” said Dr. Kristi Moore, professor and chair of the Department of Radiologic Sciences. “Dr. Street is a driven, hard-working, passionate individual who pours everything she has into any task at hand. There is absolutely nothing she cannot do, and she has made a tremendous impact on the imaging profession.”

Street leads departmental snack drives for UMMC cancer patients receiving infusion treatments. She also serves as vice chair of the Radiologic Technology Editorial Review Board for the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) and on the state level, just completed her second term as president of the Mississippi Society of Radiologic Technologists. A highlight of her leadership of the organization this year was a redesign of the MSRT website.

Her award coincided with National Rad Tech Week, Nov. 6-12.

—  —  —

Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery faculty honored with leadership roles

Portrait of Dr. Rinki Desai
Portrait of Mary Brunson Porter
Portrait of Dr. Randall Jordan

Three faculty members in the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery have been selected as officers in local and national organizations.

Rinki Varindani Desai, adult outpatient lead speech-language pathologist and instructor, has been elected president-elect of the Mississippi Speech-Language-Hearing Association. She will serve as president in 2024.

Dr. Mary Lauren Porter, an audiologist and assistant professor, has been elected vice president of healthcare for the association’s board for a term spanning 2023-2025.

Dr. Randall Jordan, professor, medical director and vice chair of clinical affairs, was elected vice president for public and regulatory affairs for the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery.

“We are incredibly proud of our faculty members, Dr. Jordan, Ms. Desai and Dr. Porter, for their recent elections to leadership positions in highly respected professional associations,” said Dr. Scott Stringer, professor and chair of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery.

“We are grateful for their dedication to their professions as well as our department and excited to see them serve and share their talents on a national and statewide level.”