Main Content

Faculty in SOM, SHRP commended for career achievements

Published on Monday, May 20, 2024

By: Gary Pettus,

Medical Center faculty and staff often are recognized regionally, nationally and internationally for their academic or medical achievements. These accolades place UMMC among health science centers worldwide.

Ladner awarded American Psychiatric Association’s highest honor

Portrait of Dr. Mark Ladner

Dr. Mark Ladner, professor and chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Human Behavior at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, has been named a Distinguished Life Fellow by the American Psychiatric Association.

The 1992 graduate of the School of Medicine at UMMC was recognized at the APA’s Convocation of Distinguished Fellows during the organization’s annual meeting May 4-8 in New York City. Distinguished Fellow is the organization’s highest honor awarded to its members.

It is reserved for psychiatrists who have made significant contributions to their profession in at least five of these areas: administration, teaching, scientific and scholarly publications, volunteering in mental health and medical activities of social significance, community involvement, as well as for clinical excellence.

“It was my honor to be one of eleven psychiatrists selected to become Distinguished Life Fellows (DLFAPA) in 2024,” Ladner said. “I much appreciate the designation and hope to serve as an example to our residents to work hard with a heart for service and a willingness to strive to improve their community.” 

Ladner, who lives in Jackson, where he grew up, also completed his residency at UMMC, serving as chief resident. Board-certified in psychiatry, he has also held positions at Madison County Medical Center, Hinds Behavioral Health Services, Psycamore Psychiatric Programs in Flowood and the G.V. (Sonny) Montgomery VA Medical Center in Jackson. At one time, he operated a private psychiatric practice at St. Dominic-Jackson Memorial Hospital in Jackson.

As a faculty member, he returned to UMMC in 2016. He was named chair of his department in August of last year.

—   —   —

SHRP faculty member lauded with ‘Top 40 Under 40’ distinction by JSU

Portrait of Dr. Lisa Bryant

Dr. Lisa Bryant, assistant professor of physical therapy in the School of Health Related Professions at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, has been named to Jackson State University’s first cohort of “Top 40 Under 40” of achievers.

Each year, JSU celebrates alumni under the age of 40 for their dedication to the university and their outstanding record of success in their respective careers. The “Top 40 Under 40” campaign has raised more than $100,000 that will be designated for an endowed scholarship and other costs.

“Being a part of the first cohort of JSU’s ‘Top 40 Under 40’ has brought me profound joy,” Bryant said. “I’m honored to be considered a trailblazer in my career field and to my community. I love my ‘dear ’ole college home,’ and am honored to continue to promote excellence on behalf of Jackson State University.”  

Bryant, who lives in Brandon, graduated from JSU in 2009 with a degree in biology and earned her Doctor of Physical Therapy at UMMC in 2012. Eventually, she opened her own outpatient pediatric physical therapy practice and recently achieved a board-certified specialist certification in pediatric PT. In 2022, she joined the Medical Center faculty while continuing to practice clinically in the school-based pediatric physical therapy setting.

A recent recipient of the Outstanding Physical Therapy Research Award, Bryant is a member of the American Physical Therapy Association and the American Council of Academic Physical Therapy.

As a community volunteer, she works with several organizations; her involvement includes sponsorship with Compassion International, a faith-based charity fighting child poverty.

—   —   —

SHRP celebrates Research Day honorees

Participants who placed in this year’s School of Health Related Professions Research Day gather after the program. Jay Ferchaud/ UMMC Communications
Participants who placed in this year’s School of Health Related Professions Research Day gather after the program.

The School of Health Related Professions at the University of Mississippi Medical Center recognized faculty and graduate students for their achievements during Research Day.

Held in April in the Norman C. Nelson Student Union, the annual event included 67 abstract submissions and 57 posters highlighting the research and scholarship projects in eight categories from about 250 participants across SHRP, the School of Nursing, School of Medicine and the School of Graduate Studies in the Health Sciences.

Faculty awarded on nine first-place winning projects across all categories included Dr. Renee Wilkins, chair of the Medical Laboratory Science program at SHRP, adviser on the student-led “Determining the Most Efficient ABO Testing Method”; Dr. Jacob Long, assistant professor in the physical therapy program at SHRP, for the resident-led “Efficacy of Backwards Walking Across the Continuum of Care Post-Stroke: A Systematic Review”; Dr. Tawanda McNair and Dr. Asher Street Beam, both assistant professors in the Department of Health Sciences at SHRP, Dr. Judy Gordy, program director for the Master of Health Administration program at SHRP, for “Standardizing Operating Room Preference Cards for Cost Containment”; Dr. Megan Ladner, chair of the Occupational Therapy program at SHRP and Dr. Donna Stauter, associate professor in the program, advisers in the student-led “Continuing Education Needs for UMMC OT Graduates”; Dr. Kimberly Willis, associate professor in the physical therapy program at SHRP, adviser on the student-led “Effects of Inspiratory Muscle Training on Patients with Lung Cancer: A Systematic Review”; Dr. Deborah Konkle-Parker, SON professor, James B. Brock, SOM associate professor and Venetra McKinney, SOM manager of clinical research, who won first place for “Platform for Studying Chronic Diseases Over Time: The MAC/WIHS Combined Cohort Study (MCWCCS)”; Dr. Nicole Anderson, SOM assistant professor, adviser on the student-led “Genetic Zebrafish Models Provide Insight into the Metastasis Cascade in Neuroblastoma”; and Dr. David Gordy, SOM assistant professor, Dr. Seth Lirette, SPH associate professor, Dr. Elliot Varney, SOM associate professor, Dr. Candace Howard, SOM associate professor and Dr. Merlin Manogaram, SOM postdoc research fellow, for “Is There an Increased Risk for Abnormal Bone Density in a NAFLD Population?” and “Factors Associated with Appendix Visualization and Diagnostic Performance with Ultrasound in a Pediatric Population, which tied for first in the medical research category.

Students in SHRP programs who co-authored those projects were Shania Terry and Charles Johnson, medical laboratory science; Dr. Melissa Knight, physical therapy resident; Margo Haley, Dylan Hight, Anna Minga, Emalee Rushing and Lillie Thornton, occupational therapy; Jessica Gibson, Hayley Hamrick, Maggie Meinz and Kassidy Young, physical therapy.