Main Content

UMMC faculty members gather kudos

Published on Monday, July 11, 2022

Cornelius tapped for federation board

Denise Cornelius

Dr. Denise C. Cornelius, associate professor of emergency medicine, has been selected early-career Representative on the board of directors at the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology.

Her term began July 1.

“Our board of directors is composed of a dedicated team of leaders who work tirelessly to ensure FASEB carries out its mission to advance health and well-being by promoting research and education in the biological and biomedical research community,” said Dr. Patricia L. Morris, a guest investigator at  Rockefeller University and president of FASEB.

Director of pre-clinical research in the Department of Emergency Medicine, Cornelius has a grant from the National Institutes of Health to study immune dysfunction in preeclampsia. In this condition, pregnant women develop high blood pressure with other organ dysfunction, and can result in stroke or seizures in mom, as well as growth restriction and low birth weight for baby.

Cornelius also works on projects related to sepsis, a potentially lethal blood infection. She earned her PhD in microbiology and immunology from UMMC in 2012.

FASEB is composed of 28 scientific member societies with 115,000 members, making it the largest coalition of biomedical research associations in the United States. FASEB’s mission is to advance health and well-being by promoting research and education in biological and biomedical sciences through collaborative advocacy and service to member societies and their members.


Harrington, Fletcher recognized by nursing group

Marilyn Harrington
Audwin Fletcher

The Association of Black Nursing Faculty has honored School of Nursing faculty members Dr. Marilyn Harrington, associate professor of nursing and assistant dean for diversity, equity and inclusion, and Dr. Audwin Fletcher, professor of nursing, assistant dean for graduate programs and director of adult-gerontology acute care and adult-gerontology primary care nurse practitioner tracks.

Harrington is a member of the ABNF Board of Directors, and Fletcher is recipient of the Sallie Tucker-Allen Outstanding Member Award.

“I am excited about having the opportunity to support ABNF in achieving their mission to promote and disseminate the research and other scholarly works of the minority nurse academician,” Harrington said. “This is vital to the longevity of the organization.”

Fletcher, an ABNF member for the past 24 years, has served as the organization’s director of public relations since 2008. In that role, he publishes the ABNF Newsletter. Fletcher’s elected offices include president-elect from 2016 to 2018, president from 2018 to 2020, and immediate past president from 2020 to 2022. He was bylaws chair from 2016 to 2018.

During his tenure as president, the membership doubled, and attendance at the Annual ABNF Conference and Scientific Meeting in Chicago was the highest in the 30 years of the organization. During that time, ABNF’s mentorship mission led to more robust networking and professional development among members.

As immediate past president, Fletcher provides guidance to the current ABNF president and works to keep leadership focused on increasing the number of minority nursing faculty in leadership and tenured roles.

“Together, minority nursing faculty can work to achieve the ultimate goals of decreasing health disparities and educating the next generation of nursing leaders,” Fletcher said.