Main Content

UMMC nurses receive recognition at Nightingale awards ceremony

Published on Thursday, March 10, 2011

Published in Press Releases on March 10, 2011 (PDF)

Mississippi's 2011 Nightingale Awards recipients from the University of Mississippi Medical Center include, front row, from left, Jana Neely, Nurse Rookie of the Year; Edrie George-Royals, Mississippi 2011 Hall of Fame; Michelle Welander, Nurse Manager of the Year; and back row from left, Tina Martin, Faculty Member of the Year; Rebecca Askew, Nurse Educator of the Year; and Chris Powe, Advanced Practice Nurse of the Year.

The late Mickey Aldridge, who was a telemergency nurse practitioner at Holmes County Hospital and Clinics in Lexington, was inducted into the Mississippi Nurses Association 2011 Hall of Fame.

The ceremony, held March 7 at the Downtown Jackson Marriott, honored nurses who provide exceptional care in the health-care industry in Mississippi. The MNA and the Mississippi Nurses Foundation presented the awards.