Awards and Recognition

Main Content

Awards and Recognition

The UMMC GWIMS chapter will present four awards this year to outstanding UMMC faculty members. These four awards will be designated for early, middle, and late career faculty members. 

Nominations for the 2023 Awards are being accepted until Friday, June 16, 2023. Submit awards nominations using this online form. Award winners will be announced at the end of June. 

2022 honorees

LouAnn Woodward, MD Late-Career Faculty AwardBabette LaMarca, PhD
Dept. Pharmacology & Toxicology
School of Graduate Studies in the Health Sciences
Mid-Career Faculty Award

Kedra Wallace, PhD
Associate Dean of Academic and Faculty Affairs
School of Population Health

Early-Career Faculty Award

Ana Palei, PharmD, PhD
Assistant Professor
Dept. Surgery-Trauma/Critical Care
School of Medicine

Trainee Award

Lohitha Kalluri
School of Graduate Studies in the Health Sciences

2021 honorees

Click here to view the video announcement of the 2021 GWIMS Awards awardees. 

LouAnn Woodward, MD Authentic Leadership AwardNita Maihle, PhD
Assoc. Director of Basic Science Research
Cancer Center & Research Institute
Dept. Cell and Molecular Biology
School of Medicine
Helen Barnes, MD Diversity and Inclusion AwardMichelle Owens, MD
Medical Director
Maternal-Fetal Medicine
Dept. Obstectrics and Gynecology
School of Medicine
Innovation AwardMohadetheh Moulana, PhD
Curriculum Development
Assistant Professor
Dept. Pshychiatry and Human Behavior
 School of Medicine
Resilient Spirit AwardBhagyashri Navalkele, MD
Medical Director
Division of Infectious Diseases
Dept. Medicine
Assistant Professor
School of Medicine
Emerging Star Award (Student/Residents/Fellows)Megha Satpathy
Graduate Research Assistant
PhD Candidate
Dept. Biomedical Materials Science
School of Dentistry
Rising Star Award (Early-Career Faculty)Caroline Compretta, PhD
Community Engaged Research Core
Assistant Professor
Dept. Preventive Medicine
School of Population Health
Shining Star Award (Mid-Career Faculty)Crystal Lim, PhD
Psychology Internship Program
Associate Professor
Dept. Psychiatry and Human Behavior
School of Medicine
Trailblazer Award (Male Faculty)Vikas Majithia, MD
Division of Rheumatology
Dept. Medicine
School of Medicine

Trainee Recognition Award

Mary Nittala, PhD
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dept. Radiation Oncology
School of Medicine

2020 honorees


Photo of 2020 awards recipients

2019 honorees

LouAnn Woodward, MD Authentic Leadership Award - Loretta Jackson-Williams, MD
Helen B. Barnes, MD Diversity and Inclusion Award - Felicia Tardy, MD
Innovation Award - Barbara Alexander, PhD
Resilient Spirit Award - Julie Schumacher, PhD
Emerging Star Award - Erin Taylor, PhD
Rising Star Award - Felicitas Koler, MD
Shining Star Award - Jennifer Sasser, PhD
Trailblazer Award - Alan Jones, MD
Photo of 2020 awards recipients

Back row (L-R): Jennifer Sasser, Felicia Tardy, Alan Jones, Loretta Jackson-Williams
Front row (L-R): Barbara Alexander, Erin Taylor, Julie Schumacher

2018 honorees

LouAnn Woodward, MD Authentic Leadership Award - Jane Reckelhoff, PhD
Helen B. Barnes, MD Diversity and Inclusion Award - Juanyce Taylor, PhD
Innovation Award - Alexandra Castillo, PhD
Resilient Spirit Award - Penni Lowery, NP
Emerging Star Award - Ashley Albert, MD
Rising Star Award - Anju Sukumaran, MD
Shining Star Award - Mobolaji Famuyide, MD
Trailblazer Award - Abhay Bhatt, MD

Photo of 2018 awards recipients

(L-R): Ashley Albert, Anju Sukumaran, Abhay Bhatt, Juanyce Taylor

2017 honorees

LouAnn Woodward, MD Authentic Leadership Award - LouAnn Woodward, MD
Helen B. Barnes, MD Diversity and Inclusion Award - Helen B. Barnes, MD
Innovation Award - Merry Lindsey, PhD
Resilient Spirit Award - Bettina Beech, MD
Emerging Star Award - Kristine DeLeon-Pennell, PhD
Rising Star Award - Sarah Sterling, PhD
Shining Star Award - Pia Chatterjee Kirk, DM
Trailblazer Award - Robert Prodell, MD