School of Graduate Studies in Health Sciences

Main Content

Graduate Council


  • Joey P. Granger (Dean) (C)
  • Sydney Murphy (Associate Dean of Academic Affairs) ex officio
  • Michael Ryan (Associate Dean of Student Affairs) ex officio
  • Hanna Broome (Assistant Dean of Graduate Education) ex officio
  • Eva Bengten (Microbiology & Immunology)
  • Alejandro Chade (Physiology & Biophysics)
  • Sean Didion (MD/PhD)
  • Jason Griggs (Biomedical Materials Science)
  • Michael Hebert (Cell and Molecular Biology)
  • Candace Howard (PhD Biomedical Sciences - Imaging Track)
  • Amol Janorkar (Biomedical Materials Science)
  • Larry McDaniel (Microbiology & Immunology)
  • Andrew Notebaert (Clinical Anatomy)
  • Jane Reckelhoff (Cell and Molecular Biology)
  • Jennifer Robinson (Nursing)
  • Audra Schaefer (Clinical Anatomy)
  • Christopher Spankovich (Audiology)
  • Mary Stewart (Nursing)
  • Eric Vallender (Neuroscience)
  • Douglas Vetter (Neuroscience)
  • Kedra Wallace¬†(Clinical Investigation)
  • Jan Williams (Experimental Therapeutics and Pharmacology)


The committee's charge is to establish admission requirements for the graduate program; to establish guidelines for scholastic requirements; to establish eligibility of faculty members for appointment to the Graduate Faculty; to establish policies for the formation of student advisory committees; to determine a student's eligibility for admission to candidacy for a degree; to meet periodically to review academic and research requirements for master's and doctoral programs; to determine dissertation and thesis formats and the mechanisms for administering the final oral examinations; to participate in the implementation of new degree requirements; and to revise and/or eliminate obsolete procedures.

Meeting schedule

  • Sept. 18, 2019
  • Dec. 10, 2019
  • March 3, 2020
  • May 19, 2020