2018 Pillars

Main Content

2018 Pillars Honorees

Excellence Award

  • Brent Necaise, School of Medicine, Class of 2018
  • Honorable mention - Edgar R. Meyer, MAT; Denise Powell

The Excellence Award honors a student, resident, or fellow from any school of UMMC who demonstrates an outstanding commitment to the institution’s goals to promote diversity and inclusion within the institution and through service to the commUNITY.

Inclusion Award

  • Dr. Gaarmel Funches, Director, Office of Health Careers Opportunity
  • Honorable mention - Leslye Bastos Ortega; Debra Wilson

The Inclusion Award recognizes a full-time or part-time executive/administrative, professional, secretarial and clerical, service and maintenance, skilled crafts, or technical & paraprofessionals staff member that does not hold a faculty position who has shown outstanding leadership in expanding diversity and inclusion in the workplace.

Beacon Award

  • Norma Ojeda, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics
  • Honorable mention - Robin W. Rockhold, PhD, FAPE; Marilyn Harrington, PhD, RN, AGNP-C

The Beacon Award honors any clinical or non-clinical faculty member with an academic designation or rank who demonstrates inclusive excellence in teaching, instruction, research, or clinical practice at UMMC.

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Barbara Craft, MD, Associate Professor, Department of Hematology/Oncology

The Lifetime Achievement Award acknowledges an alumni who has made a significant contribution to improving health outcomes in diverse communities in the state of Mississippi. 

Community Inspiration Award

  • Stewpot Community Services

The Community Inspiration Award recognizes a community member or an organization that helps advance diverse and/or underrepresented communities through servant leadership in the areas of fairness and inclusion.