ODI Initiatives

Main Content

IHL Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion Award

Each year the Institutions of Higher Learning Board of Trustees honors leaders from each of Mississippi's public universities and the community at-large for their commitment to improving diversity and supporting underrepresented populations. Among the distinguished honorees, one person is selected to receive the award for Diversity Educator of the Year.

UMMC recipients and honorees


Ervin Fox, MD
Professor, Division of Cardiovascular Diseases
Department of Medicine
School of Medicine

Mohadetheh Moulana, PhD
Assistant Professor, Division of Neurobiology and Behavior Research
Department of Psychiatry and Human Behavior
School of Medicine
Mike Ryan receives IHL Diversity Educator of the Year Award2019
Dr. Michael Ryan, 2019 Diversity Educator of the Year
Department of Physiology and Biophysics
School of Medicine
News article
Dr. Leandro Mena
Professor and Chair
Department of Population Health Science
Bower School of Population Health

Dr. Hamed Benghuzzi
Professor of Clinical Health Sciences
School of Health Related Professions
Dr. Juanyce Taylor
School of Health Related Professions
Dr. Claude N. Brunson
Senior Advisor for External Affairs
Dr. Bettina M. Beech
School of Medicine