Cancer Institute

Main Content

Recent News Stories from Cancer and the Cancer Institute

Click here to subscribe to our RSS News Feed

Robinson to lead CCRI clinical trials program

Thursday, May 28, 2020

Dr. William Russel “Rusty” Robinson has joined the University of Mississippi Medical Center Cancer Center and Research Institute as a professor in gynecologic oncology and hematology/oncology and to lead its cancer clinical trials program. Read More

April Collier, right, phlebotomist, prepares to draw labs from Tamathy Summerall of Hattiesburg in a tent near the UMMC Cancer Center and Research Institute's outpatient clinics at the Jackson Medical Mall Thad Cochran Center.

Those at higher COVID-19 complication risk should note these tips

Monday, April 20, 2020

People with chronic diseases and those whose immune systems are suppressed have a higher mortality rate from the COVID-19 virus than people without those complicating factors. UMMC experts promote suggestions for avoiding exposure to the novel coronavirus. Read More

In midst of pandemic, UMMC continues taking care of patients

Even in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic, UMMC continues to provide vital health care services to adults and children in Mississippi. While some of those services may come in uncustomary forms, such as telehealth, the Medical Center's necessary work continues.

Published on Monday, April 20, 2020

New name reflects ongoing mission for pediatric hem-onc center

What had been the Children’s Cancer Center is now the Children’s of Mississippi Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders. The new name more accurately reflects the center’s hematology and oncology mission and the importance of treating blood-related conditions for children throughout the state.

Published on Wednesday, March 11, 2020

People of the U: Lacie Matherne

Lacie Matherne says organization, teamwork and efficiency are crucial to the job she holds today with UMMC, just as it was in the year she performed with the New Orleans Saints Saintsations, completed her senior year in college and held two part time jobs.

Published on Monday, February 24, 2020

Mississippi museum brings the arts to adult cancer patients at UMMC

A cooperative venture between the UMMC Cancer Center and Research Institute and the Mississippi Museum of Art expands the museum’s efforts to employ the arts in ways that help cancer patients and survivors lessen their stress and increase their self-esteem.

Published on Thursday, February 6, 2020

People of the U: Jenny Herron

Published on Wednesday, January 22, 2020

People of the U: Ophelia Spencer

Published on Thursday, January 2, 2020

Growth, improved services highlight CCRI year

Published on Tuesday, December 31, 2019

UMMC, CCRI provide custom wigs, makeovers to cancer patients

Published on Thursday, December 19, 2019

Efforts to increase colorectal cancer screening in MS yield positive results

Published on Thursday, December 5, 2019

Cancer programs add cardio-oncology services for patients at risk

Published on Monday, November 11, 2019

Breast cancer screenings can save lives

Published on Monday, October 21, 2019

UMMC surgeons take on new roles

Published on Thursday, September 19, 2019

Hilal joins CCRI hematology team

Published on Thursday, September 19, 2019

Robotic device gives surgeons more flexibility to treat head, neck cancers

Published on Monday, September 9, 2019

Stefanek joins CCRI

Published on Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Implant recall leaves many with questions about their health, safety

Published on Tuesday, August 27, 2019

New division to expand genetic testing as a health care force

Published on Monday, August 12, 2019

U.S. News lists UMMC's cancer program among tops in nation

Published on Monday, August 5, 2019

UMMC Cancer Center and Research Institute boasts new name, strong goals

Published on Monday, April 22, 2019

SON, NIH team up to reduce cervical cancer in Mississippi

Published on Thursday, April 11, 2019

Hope Lodge goal: Patients more focused on their cancer fight

Published on Thursday, March 28, 2019

Maihle joins UMMC Cancer Institute

Published on Tuesday, March 26, 2019

Touching base daily by telehealth helps BMT patients recover more quickly

Published on Monday, March 25, 2019