Main Content

Doctor of Medicine Licensing Disclosure

The Doctor of Medicine program at the University of Mississippi School of Medicine (UMSOM) is accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME). The LCME is recognized by the United States Department of Education as the authority for the accreditation of medical education programs leading to the MD degree.  

The United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) is a three-step examination for medical licensure in the United States and assesses the examinee’s knowledge, clinical skills, and communication skills. Students in a medical education program leading to the MD degree must pass all three steps in order to be eligible for medical licensure in any state. While completing a medical degree at the UMSOM, students are required to take Step 1 and Step 2 CK of USMLE. The third and final step of the USMLE is taken during postgraduate residency training.  

All graduates of the UMSOM are prepared to enter any Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) residency program in the United States because of successful completion of the accredited educational program and the required passage of USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK. This general licensure framework is utilized in all fifty states.  Contact information for each state’s medical licensing entity and other helpful information is provided by the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB). 

Related Links: 

Liaison Committee on Medical Education  

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education 

Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure