Trauma Fellowship

Main Content

Trauma Faculty

Trauma faculty stand in front of AirCare helicopter.

George Russell, Matthew Graves,

Lori Reed, Patrick Bergin, John Morellato


russell.jpgGeorge V. Russell, Jr., MD, MBA
James L. Hughes Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

CEO, University Physicians
B.S. Denison University
M.D. University of Cincinnati, College of Medicine
M.B.A. Northwestern, Kellogg School of Management


George completed his Orthopaedic residency at the University of Cincinnati in Cincinnati, Ohio. He then completed an Orthopaedic trauma fellowship at the University of Washington/Harborview Medical Center in Seattle, WA.

In 2000, George joined the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at the University of Mississippi Medical Center after serving as assistant professor of Orthopaedic Trauma at the University of South Alabama. While at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, he has become one of the nation’s leading orthopaedic trauma surgeons. George is recognized as an expert on obesity in orthopaedics. His creation of the clamshell osteotomy used to long bone malunion has been utilized around the globe. He has authored and co-authored many publications, presented both nationally and internationally on his specialty of orthopaedic trauma.

George is committed to resident education and has been selected multiple times as Professor of The Year. He is a member of the Mississippi Orthopaedic Society where he has served as President. He was elected to AAOS Leadership Fellows Program and represented Mississippi on the AAOS Board of Councilors.

George has serviced the University of Mississippi Medical Center in many leadership roles, including being selected to serve as Chairman for the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery in February 2014. George was honored as the inaugural recipient of the James L. Hughes MD Endowed Chair in 2014. He also has served in other roles, including Vice Chairman of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Chief of Orthopaedic Trauma, Medical Director of Orthopaedics, Faculty Senate, and the Promotion/Tenure Review Advisory Committee.

In July 2021, he was selected to serve as the CEO for University Physicians. George never imagined himself in Mississippi, but has grown attached to the incredible satisfaction of serving a population with tremendous need, offering him the privilege of practicing what he loves.

George has completed two Ironman triathlons in New Zealand and South Africa. Currently, George occupies his spare time with CrossFit and golf. George is married to Stephanie Russell, also an Ironman, and has three daughters, Kristen, Jessica, and Ivy.

Matthew GravesMatt Graves, M.D.
Hansjörg Wyss AO Medical Foundation Chair of Orthopaedic Trauma
Professor & Vice-Chair
Residency & Trauma Fellowship Program Director


A native of Clarksdale, Mississippi, Dr. Graves graduated summa cum laude with a major in Honors Biology from Vanderbilt University. He then matriculated early admission into the University of Mississippi Medical School (UMMC) and stayed there to complete his residency in Orthopaedic Surgery. He completed an AO fellowship at Northern Nevada Medical Center with Dr. Jeff Mast which focused on malunion and deformity treatment, followed by a trauma fellowship at Harborview Medical Center in Seattle, Washington.  He returned to UMMC in 2006 and was awarded the Hansjörg Wyss AO Medical Foundation Endowed Chair in Orthopaedic Trauma in 2011.  He now serves as Professor, Vice-Chair, Residency and Trauma Fellowship Director.  He has taught Orthopaedic Trauma in 12 countries and has a primary focus on trauma and deformity and a secondary focus on adult education.

Patrick BerginPat Bergin, MD
Research Director for Department



Patrick Bergin was born in Amite, Louisiana before moving to Natchez, Mississippi during high school.  He matriculated to Mississippi State University and graduated in Biological Engineering.  He completed his Medical School at Washington University in St. Louis.  He then completed Orthopaedic Residency training atGeorge Washington University where he also completed a six-month internship at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).   He finished his training with a trauma fellowship at OrthoIndy in Indianapolis, IN.  He has been in practice at the University of Mississippi Medical Center since 2011. He currently holds the role of Research Director for the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and is an active faculty member with the AO.

morellato.jpgJohn Morellato BSc Pharm, MBBS (Hons), FRCSC
BSc Pharmacy - University of British Columbia
MBBS (Hons) – University of Sydney


John Morellato was born and raised on the west coast of Canada in British Columbia. After completing a degree in Pharmacy at the University of British Columbia and working there as a pharmacist he then moved to Australia to complete Medical School at the University of Sydney where he graduated with honors. After nearly two years as working as a house officer at St George Hospital in Sydney, he then transitioned back to Canada where he completed residency training in Ottawa, Ontario (the nation’s capital) at the University of Ottawa. During residency he completed an AO Trauma Fellowship at the University of Mississippi Medical Center. He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

He then completed an Orthopaedic Trauma fellowship at R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center in Baltimore, MD. During his fellowship he was able to participate in the AOTrauma North America Travelling Fellows Initiative travelling to Davos, Switzerland. At the completion of fellowship he then joined the University of Mississippi Medical Center as Assistant Professor. He is an active faculty member with AO North America and currently serves as the Quality Officer for the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery.

reed.jpgLori Reed, MD