Faculty Recognition

Main Content

Faculty Recognition

Nelson Order

The Nelson Order was established in 2004 by the Office of Academic Affairs. The Nelson Order honors our institution's best teachers, as selected by students, by their peers, and recommended by the deans of their respective schools. All six schools are given the opportunity to nominate the best of the best to be recognized as part of the Norman C. Nelson Order annually.

Regions Bank TEACH Prize

Faculty recipients of the Norman C. Nelson Order of Teaching Excellence are eligible for the Regions Bank TEACH Prize. Initiated in 2013, the Regions Bank TEACH (Toward Educational Advancement in Care and Health) Prize celebrates the highest qualities of our teaching faculty. The winner receives a cash award of $10,000 and recognition at the luncheon honoring Nelson Order inductees.

Faculty recognition by discipline

Carl G. Evers, MD, Society

The Carl G. Evers, MD, Society was established in the School of Medicine as an honorary and service organization. It comprises medical students from all four years, each elected by the members of his or her class. Awards are presented at a ceremony each year.

John Hembree Society

In 1987, at the recommendation of Dean John H. Hembree, the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry developed comprehensive rating instruments for students to evaluate their classes and instructors. It is known as the John Hembree Society.