Student Programs

Main Content

Student Awards

Dr. Thais Tonore Joy of Family Medicine Award

This award, sponsored by the Department of Family Medicine, is awarded to an fourth year medical student pursuing a career in Family Medicine who has demonstrated compassion and integrity in patient care, shown exemplary professionalism and exhibits a zeal for the specialty of Family Medicine.

  • 2019   Van-Vi Le

Dr. M. Winter Jackson Medical Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to students who plan to specialize in the general or family practice of medicine and based on academic standing , potential for growth and development in the chosen field and need. It is renewable for the fourth year of medical school if the recipient continues to meet the criteria.

  • 2019
    • Seniors- Maribeth Hillhouse, Falan Mcknight
    • Junior- Ethan Collier
  • 2018
    • Senior - Craig Bullock
    • Juniors - Marlee Wadsworth
  • 2017
    • Seniors - Amanda Cooley, Caleb Peyton
    • Juniors - Craig Bullock, Mitchell Moore
  • 2016
    • Seniors - David Green, Brent McCaleb
    • Juniors - Amanda Cooley, Caleb Peyton

Dr. and Mrs. Henry O. Leonard Scholarship

This fund was established in June 1988 in memory of Dr. and Mrs. Henry O. Leonard by Helen G. Snider. Dr. Leonard was a general practitioner in Coffeeville, MS, for many years. Juniors in the School of Medicine who are in good academic standing and have proven financial need are eligible for this scholarship. Two are awarded each year. Recipients must plan to go into the practice of family medicine and commit to practice in Mississippi for five years following graduation and residency training.

  • 2019
    • Seniors- Gary Hodge, Van-Vi Le
    • Juniors- Joseph Brooks Pratt, Nathaniel Sparks
  • 2018
    • Senior - Clint Pride
    • Juniors - Sonny Hodge, Van-vi Le
  • 2017
    • Seniors - Stephen Morgan, Brooks Turner
    • Juniors - William Casey,  Clint Pride
  • 2016
    • Seniors - Susan Frichter, Angela Payne
    • Juniors - Brooks Turner, Stephen Morgan

Powell Award for Excellence in Family Medicine

This award, sponsored by the Department of Family Medicine and the Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians, goes to a senior who demonstrated academic excellence and leadership in family medicine, and commitment to family practice. The award was established in memory of Dr. John Powell of Houlka, MS, by his wife. It consists of a cash prize and inscription of the student's name on a plaque permanently displayed at the Medical Center. The student also receives free tuition and a two-night stay at the Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians' annual Scientific Assembly, where the student will again be recognized.

  • 2018 - Zach Long
  • 2017 - Brock Banks
  • 2016 - Jessica Douglas
  • 2015 - Emily Brandon