Dec. 16, 2019

Main Content

Ophthalmology faculty's photo garners journal cover nod; Alpha Eta taps SHRP faculty, students

Ophthalmology journal selects UMMC faculty’s photo for cover

OpthomologyCover.jpgA photograph submitted to a national ophthalmology journal by Dr. Albert Lin, UMMC assistant professor of ophthalmology, and Jody Watkins, senior ophthalmic research associate in the Department of Ophthalmology, has been chosen for the publication’s December 2019 cover.

The photograph appears in the Ophthalmology Retina journal of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, a publication read worldwide.

Lin is a vitreo-retinal surgeon, while Watkins, a photographer, uses cameras and imaging techniques for diagnostics and for educational and research purposes.

The photograph illustrates an unusual presentation of diabetic retinopathy, Lin said.

“There is an appearance of two optic nerves due to the patient’s diabetic retinopathy, whereas there should normally only be one present,” he said. “The patient doesn’t have two optic nerves. It’s just that his disease presents in a way that looks like that.”

Watkins and Lin have worked together for several years.

Such photography is critical, Watkins said.

“Relevant and reliable information is key in fulfilling the mission of ophthalmology's imaging center as being the ‘eyes’ for the department,” he said.

To view the journal’s cover, click here.

Alpha Eta Society inducts 38 SHRP faculty, students

The Alpha Eta Society, which honors excellence in the Allied Health Professions, added 38 students and faculty members to its ranks during a Nov. 8 induction ceremony at UMMC.

The inductees, who teach or are pursuing degrees in the School of Health Related Professions, are now members of the society’s UMMC/SHRP chapter. Dr. Sherry West, associate professor and director of SHRP’s Nuclear Medicine Technology Program in the Department of Radiologic Sciences, serves as chapter president.

According to its website, Alpha Eta promotes and recognizes significant scholarship, leadership and contributions to the Allied Health Professions with the motto, “Together We Serve.” Faculty and students inducted into Alpha Eta excel in their various fields through scholarship and service to allied health education and their patients.

The organization is named for the Greek letters representing the first letters in each word of “allied health.”

Alpha Eta claims 89 chapters nationwide and more than 35,000 members. The UMMC/SHRP chapter began in 1982.

During the ceremony, three students were recognized as 2019 Alpha Eta Award recipients: Whitney Bondurant, the Lee Holder Award for Excellence in Graduate Health Education; Amy Valenciano, the Sidney Rodenberg Memorial Scholastic Award; and Rachel Anne Gaines Hilliard, the Exceptional Student Professional Service Award.

SHRP programs and their respective Inductees include:

  • Health Administration – Karen H. Dowling, Richard Nathan Martinez and Dr. Angela Adair Burrell (faculty)

  • Health Informatics and Information Management (Master) – Stacey Ferguson, Jonathan “Win” Winstead, Dr. Shamsi Rebecca Berry (faculty) and Dr. Shelia Anderson Bullock (faculty)

  • Health Sciences (Master) – Genie Ross Briggs, Kierra Shant’e Clay and Dr. Cynthia Casey (faculty)

  • Occupational Therapy – Brittany Shardae Fields, Olivia Worthy Goode, Shelby Foster Grimes, Linsey Davis Lawrence, Skylar McKenzie Menist, Sallie Gardner Metcalf, Meg Newman and Jocelyne Olguin

  • Physical Therapy – Steven James Cialone, LeAnndra Kerri Griffith, Macey Larkin Lee, Cody Lewis, Benjamin Killen, Loagan MacKenzie Johnson, Anthony Rafael Pike, Marshall Gray Scruggs and Thomas Tubby

  • Medical Laboratory Science – Jennifer Bonner, Elizabeth Marie Echols and Shannon Ayiesha Milbourne

  • Radiologic Sciences – Julia Rae Mansfield, Alexandria (Lexie) McPhail, Christina Hope Metz, Jennifer Pruden and Callie Marie Shepherd

  • Magnetic Resonance Imaging (Master) – Aurlivia Deshay Bibbs

  • Nuclear Medicine Technology (Master) – Madison Burford and Kelsie Michelle Luke

More than three dozen students and faculty in the School of Health Related Professions are among the newest inductees for the national scholastic honors organization, the Alpha Eta Society.
More than three dozen students and faculty in the School of Health Related Professions are among the newest inductees for the national scholastic honors organization, the Alpha Eta Society.