Faculty Recognition

Main Content

The Nelson Order

Norman C. Nelson

The Norman C. Nelson Order of Teaching Excellence (The Nelson Order) was established in 2004 by the Office of the Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. The purpose of The Nelson Order is to honor our institution's best teachers, as selected by students, by their peers, and recommended by the deans of their respective schools annually.

The organization's namesake is Dr. Norman Crooks Nelson, Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine from 1973 to 1994. In his first faculty appointment at Louisiana State University, he was named “Most Inspirational Teacher” in 1966 and 1968, “Best Clinical Teacher” each year from 1967 through 1971, and inclusive and outstanding teacher of the senior class in 1970.

By the time he came to the UMMC faculty in 1973, he had firmly established his reputation as a master teacher. As Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine, he used his native teaching skills and those he developed to set a standard to which many of our faculty have aspired.

The inductees of The Nelson Order are recognized at the annual UMMC Commencement, at which they are expected to wear The Nelson Order navy sash that signifies their place as a member of The Nelson Order. Additionally, inductees of The Nelson Order are eligible for the Regions Bank T.E.A.C.H. Prize. The Nelson Order past inductees are on display in the Verner S. Holmes Learning Resource Center.

Class of 2024

School of Dentistry

  • Barbara Brent, MSAH, RDH, Assistant Professor and Clinic Director, Dental Hygiene
  • Yuanyuan Duan, PhD, MS, BDS, Associate Professor and Director of Admissions Biomedical Materials Science
  • Charly Edwards, DDS, Assistant Professor and Chair, Endodontics 
  • Darrell "Mitch" M. Hutto, DMD, Associate Professor, Care Plan & Restorative Sciences

School of Graduate Studies in the Health Sciences

  • Joey Granger, PhD, Professor, Physiology & Biophysics

School of Health Related Professions

  • Lee Brown, DHA, RT(R)(N), ARRT, CNMT, RHIA, Associate Professor and Program Director, Radiologic Sciences Traditional Program
  • Peter Wayne Giroux, PhD, MHS, OTR/L, FAOTA, Professor, Occupational Therapy
  • Ryan H. McGlawn, PT, DPT, EdD, OCS, Professor, Physical Therapy
  • Tawanda M. McNair, MSN, RN, Assistant Professor, Health Systems Administration

School of Medicine

  • Wade Christopher, MD, Assistant Professor, Surgery-Transplant
  • Jonah Gunalda, MD, Associate Professor, Emergency Medicine
  • Elizabeth Lutz, MD, Associate Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • Susie Phillips, MD, Associate Professor, Pediatrics
  • Stephen Stray, PhD, Professor, Cell & Molecular Biology
  • Nathan Tullos, PhD, Associate Professor, Advanced Biomedical Education

School of Nursing

  • Jorri Davis, DNP, FNP, Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Angela Duck, PhD, MSN, Associate Professor, Nursing
  • Tiffany Griffin, DNP, RN, PMHNP-BC, Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Presly Lowry, MSN, RN, CCRN-K, Instructor, Nursing

UM School of Pharmacy

  • Katherine Artman, PharmD, BCCCP, Clinical Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice

John D. Bower School of Population Health

  • Vinayak Nahar, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, Director of Research