Development Opportunities

Main Content

UMMC Faculty Scholarship Recipients Graduate from Millsaps Program

Millsaps graduatesEight faculty were selected from a pool of highly qualified nominees to participate in the program, a certificate course that gives working professionals an exciting and comprehensive exposure to the most essential business topics, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, supply chain, management and strategy.

Included were Dr. Laquisha L. Burks, instructor in otolaryngology and communicative sciences; Dr. Christopher Spankovich, associate professor of otolaryngology and communicative sciences; Dr. Julie Kaplan, associate professor of pediatrics (genetics); Dr. Neal Liu, assistant professor of pediatrics (gastroenterology); Dr. Neeta Mehta, associate professor of dentistry (advanced general dentistry); Dr. Jung S. Ryu, instructor in biochemistry; Dr. Valipramibil B. Praveen Kumar, assistant professor of pediatrics at UMMC Grenada; and Dr. Stan Ward, associate professor of orthopaedic surgery.

The Office of Faculty Affairs and the Hearin Foundation Grant funds the scholarships. Nominations are received from school deans and School of Medicine chairs each spring for the fall course. For more information, visit